The Lateral Drift Championship Series 2012 season came to end in dramatic fashion, held last Saturday December 8, 2012 at the Clark Expo Open parking lot, Pampanga City.

The drifters all over the country came early on a hot day to practice and put on a good show in the afternoon for the public to witness. All total of 22 pro and amateur drifters came to compete for the final round and put on a race test of who will be hailed as championship winners.

Qualifying for the amateur division started early noon, as championship leader Jet Mathay of Team HKS Oil was all psych up and ready to rumble. But Jesus Salas had other plans as he spoils Mathay early in the final 8 and was just good enough to battle for 3rd against Rhett Del Rosario of Team Toycool Garage. Mathay takes 3rd place as Del Rosario Spins out in run two and therefore crowned Lateral Drift Amateur overall Champion 2012.  Jesus Salas and Rad Albano of Team Autocraft Drift, battled for 1st and Albano came short and ended 2nd place. Jesus Salas takes round 6 amateur Championship.  The top 3 amateur now moves to the Pro Division next year.

Round 6, dubbed as crossfire, this is what everyone has been waiting for, the battle for overall 2012 Lateral Drift Champion, Pro division. Total of three drivers will have a chance of winning this year’s title. Contenders are 5th time Lateral Drift Champion Alex Perez of Team Yellow cab, Boodie Dabasol of Team Turbo Cafe, and defending 2011 Champion Audel Sison of Team Autocraft drift.

The track layout was similar to round 2 and the highest entry speed 85kph was achieved by David Feliciano of DMF Drift. After qualifying the final 8 are paired up for tandems. Drama started early as Boodie Dabasol and Audel Sison were paired up early. It was a tough for the two, everyone watching and the judges like if you don’t understand drifting you would feel like it’s a rig sport. The judges had to call these guys out for extra heats that made a total to 6 runs. Ending his hopes, the 2012 defending Champ now ends up not making the final four. Boodie advances to final four and also Alex Perex advance over John Boban of Team Drift MOB.  Sison and Dabasol both having no chance in over getting overall championship and Perez celebrates as he wins this round over the Norman Agojo of Team Autocraft and Good year tires  who took  2nd place and followed by 3rd place Gio the “Wonderboy” Rodriguez of team AtoyCustoms and Hankook Tires.

It was an awesome 2012 Lateral Drift season that went down the wire again. Next year LD Productions plans to make its 8thyear the festive of all its season and to have a full calendar of 6 rounds mostly around Metro Manila. For more details, updates visit or visit

Lateral Drift would like to thank the following sponsors Hyundai Philippines, Dickies, DC shoes,

AtoyCustoms, Edsahosting, Aguila Auto Glass, Aikkapaints, Speedlab, Light hand Dental

Clinic, Wave 891, Racing beat, Philippine Daily Inquirer,,,

StoplightTV, TopGear PH, Motorcycle Magazine, Power Wheels, Autoreview, Pinoy

Speed, Manila Standard, Gadgets Magazine, Daily Tribune, Savers Appliance depot, and Clark Development Corporation.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *