Round 5 of 2013 Hyundai Lateral Drift Championship held at ASEANA MOA Drift City

 photo IMG_0053_zps8f9ae576.jpg
Last November 16, Round 5 of the Hyundai Lateral Drift Championships made history again by drifting at the biggest floor area venue of Aseana City along Roxas Boulevard. Since 2006, the drifting craze in the Philippines started and at Aseana, it is considered the fastest entry speed of a drifter. It is the same track layout used last Round 4 and the drifters were very familiar with it as it was evitable in their performances.

 photo IMG_1708_zps3ffccc1b.jpg
Not only it was a drift event but the organizers, drivers, and car clubs also put together a small fundraising and donations for the Yoland typhoon victims. Donations were handed to one of the celebrity drifters, Mr. Ryan Agoncillo and was donated directly to the noon time show, Eat Bulaga of GMA 7.

 photo IMG_1406_zps1ea71487.jpg
The Amateur division started the show first and most of these participants moved so spectacularly that they can level up to be in the pro division category. The battle for first was so tight that the judges had to call a few more, one more time with the battle between Luis Gono of Team Autoplus Motul and Mark Bernardo of Team GMW Saffiro Tires.

 photo IMG_1110_zpsa90b3c2f.jpg

In the end of the Amateur Championship, the judges ruled out Bernardo over Gono for 1st place. Gono took 2nd and EJ Malibiran in 3rd place. This is Barnardo’s second 1st place finish this year and leads this years Overall Amateur Championships.

 photo IMG_1818_zps70735c26.jpg
The Pros Division went up next as they thrilled everyone with their side by side tandem drifts. Their skill level was so high that you can see cars drifting very close to each other. Championship leader and Pilipinas Got Talent 4 finalist Gio Rodriguez of Team Atoy Custom failed to make in to the final 4 but still continues to lead in this years overall Pro-driver Championship with 60 points.

 photo IMG_0367_zps3c9da962.jpg
The battle for first was between two drift Icons to date, with 6th time Lateral Drift Champion Alex Perez of Team Yellow Cab and the Godfather of Philippine Drifting, Mr. David Feliciano of Team DMF Drift was intensifying. Feliciano showed his international drifting experience and took 1st place over Perez who ranked 2nd place. In 3rd place is Rad Rich Albano of Team Maxxis Tires. This is Feliciano’s first ever round Championship for Lateral drift since he joined last years series.

 photo IMG_1833_zps164502f8.jpg
This Saturday, 26 November at the Mega tent Libis Quezon City, will be the last round of the 2013 series. Catch Pilipinas Got Talent Season 4 Finalist and Championship leader Gio Rodriguez of Team Atoy Customs defend his hopes in being this years Champion against 6th time Champion Alex Perez of Team Yellow Cab, 2011 champion Audel Sison of Team Autocraft Drift, Boodie Da Basol of Team GMW, and the only female drifter in this years series, Tintin David of Team GMW.

Also catch Japanese judges Hiromi Kajikuma and Kimihiro Obata who will perform spectacular drift demonstrations using the 2013 Hyundai Genesis Coupe. The Genesis Coupe is this the 2012-2013 Car of the Year Philippines Best Rear-Wheel-Drive Sportscar awarded by the Car Awards Group Inc.

Rain or shine, action will start this Saturday at 8am for practice, 11am Qualifying, 2pm Amateur division tandems and finals, and 4pm Pro Division tandems and finals. It is free admission to all spectators. For more info and latest updates, please log on to or, and follow Hyundai Lateral Drift on twitter @LateralDriftPH. You can also watch a live update on the Pinoy Extreme Channel on Ustream.

The 2013 Hyundai Lateral Drift Championship is powered by the Genesis Coupe and co-presented by Standard Insurance and Wave 89.1 FM. Other sponsors include AtoyCustoms, Concept One, Saffiro Tires, Dickies Clothing, DC Shoes, Barney’s Burger, Baby Got Watch, and Aguila Auto Glass, with media partners The Philippine Daily Inquirer,, Top Gear Philippines, Stoplight TV, Auto Review, Pinoy Extreme, Creator Studio, Gadgets Magazine,,, Power Wheels Magazine, Motorcycle Magazine,, The Manila Times, Daily Tribune, The Manila Bulletin, Philippine Star, LegitManila, Turbo Zone GMA News TV, C! Magazine,, and Racin’Beat.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *