Words & Photos by David Lee


The smell of burning rubber, the screech of tires, the counter steers, over steers and donuts are back in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
ESPN Star Sports and Title Sponsors Goodyear with the support of Kuala Lumpur City Hall brings back the successful and popular Formula Drift to Malaysia (which is also the third and final leg of the Formula Drift Asia Series). The second edition of this highly successful event will be held at the historic Dataran Merdeka (Malay for Independence Square) in the heart of Kuala Lumpur City from 18th to the 19th of December 2010.


Spectators and motorsports fan can look forward to see up to 50 competitive drivers from across the Asia-Pacific region strut their stuff close up. The well known drifters such as Ryuji Mike from Japan and Daniel Woolhouse from New Zealand together with world class drivers from Singapore, Philippines, Thailand, Indonesia, Hong Kong, China will push their modified machines to the limit with precision control against Malaysian favourites, Ariff Johanis, Azrina Jane, Michael Gan and Hanizam Hazmah of Team Goodyear.


Formula Drift is the first and only sanctioned North American professional championship drifting series, with the goal of expanding and developing the motorsport of professional drifting in Asia. The first Singapore championship in 2008 signified the desire to transform drifting into a truly global mainstay and the Asian championship provides the opportunity for local drifters to compete, hone and learn from the very best. In 2010-11, the Formula Drift Asia championship will take place in Singapore, Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia. The championship which is supported by ESPN Star Sports will be broadcasted to millions of viewers in Asia and beyond.
The event format will follow the traditional “head-to-head battle” where drivers attempt to qualify in single judged runs to be one of the 32 drivers that will enter the main competition bracket. In the bracketed competition, drivers will be paired off to compete in a head-to-head “tandem battle” format to challenge each other to be the final winner.


You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *