Drift Tire Marks History (2015 HLD Round 1)

History has been made as the first and longest running drift series in the country as it started out its 10th season of the Hyundai later drift championship series and year 3 for the Hyundai brand as title sponsor. It was held last Saturday, March 21 at the Cultural Center of the Philippines parking lot and alongside the Atomized 5th Carshow by the De La Salle university of Mechanical Engineering.
 photo HLD 2015 round 1 with logos_zpsq3g143pd.png

The last time drifting was held here at the CCP parking area was back in 2007, but this time it’s held here on the biggest side of the open area. The old side was use for the Carshow displays.

 photo 20150321_152730_zpsl9cgvhj5.jpg photo 20150321_155002_2_zpsgrgwdwrv.jpg

The track was layout to a fast straight to big left drift to number nine and transitioning to a big drift back to the initiating point of start. It was a nice track layout by the Japanese Judges Kimihiro Obata, Hiromi Kajikoma, and this year 3rd judge long time drift instructor Paolo Speedballs Arepacochaga . 6 time Lateral Drift Champion Alex Perez is this year’s race director and steps aside and concentrate on circuit racing career.

 photo 20120101_185738_zpslg0nzhit.jpg

The day started with the amateur division and not like the pros they are only required to do the half of the track and not to a reverse 9. A new comer from Australia Max Lopez who took 3rd place and he was very happy to be part of this year season. 1st and 2nd spot is taken by the Ng brothers of Kowloon tea house. Patrick Ng in 2nd and Stephen Ng in 1st place.

 photo 20150321_164302_1_zpseypqkunz.jpg

In the pro division the level of competition is so high that the judges had to call a few more one more times to score them right. In the battle for 3rd place it was Ralph Tan of Pilipnas got talent 4 and team Atoy customs who drifted it out with EJ Malibiran of team DriftMob. Tan take 3rd and Malibiran falls out of the podium in 4th place.

 photo 20150321_164801_5_zps4amtjqxu.jpg

The battle for first continued with the 2 top dogs that competed for last year’s championship John Boban of team DriftMob and defending back to back champion Gio Rodriguez of Pilipnas got talent 4 and Team Atoycustoms. In their battle for 1st, it wowed the fans and put the judges on their toes as this guys had to run a few more time with a total of 8 runs. Boban  driving Toyota Soarer that produce 500hp was a smoke machine at the track and Rodriguez driving 190E Benz was just close to half the horse  power of nemesis. Rodriguez continued to overcome the challenge as he was able to close in on Boban’s car to take first place in the season 10 opening round. It was a show that the spectators will would like to see more this season as this drivers continue to progress in world standard form.

 photo 20120101_190429_zps3ky7ljdn.jpg

The next round of the Hyundai lateral drift Championship Series will be held on April 18 at the mega Tent in Libis Quezon City. For more information about the series visit there Facebook page www.facebook.com/LateralDriftProductions or www.facebook.com/hyundaiph,
 photo HLD 2015 round2 ver2_zpsdulyfscz.png

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *