25th year of Race Of Champions & MICHELIN tyres at Thailand, Bangkok 2012

Happening this weekend in Bangkok, Thailand  is the 25th year of Race of Champions. A International Motorsport event that is held at the end of each year, that features the best drivers in the world, who are champions from different forms of racing. This is the only competition were you will see superstar drivers from Formula one, World rally championship, NASCAR, and other motor sports compete against each other in a identical car and track head to head.

The first event was in 1988 when former rally driver Michele Mouton and Fredrik Johnson started in to bring the worlds rally drivers to compete in one stage. Later on they expanded and included champion drivers from different Motorsport. The event has been held in Europe ever since it started. In 2009 in was done in China’s bird nest stadium and this weekend in Bangkok, Thailand.

This year the youngest, and 3 time Formula one champion Sebastian Vettel will competing for this year ROC, together with 7 time Formula one champion Michael Schumacher.

MICHELIN tires has been the official tyre supplier to the Race of Champions ever since our very first event in 1988. That means ROC 2012 in Bangkok will be the 25th consecutive year that MICHELIN has provided the tyres for our line-up of legends from the world’s major forms of motor sport.” For The Race of Champions, MICHELIN will bring with them a range of different tyres from their catalogue that fit with the specifications in place for the event.

To add to the excitement of the event, competitors will compete in a range of different vehicles, with MICHELIN matching the best tyre to each vehicle.

I hope this will be shown on starsport or espnstar here in Manila. If not for sure in will be online. I will update post when I find a link.

Here are the drivers grouping for Race Of Champions

Draw (Sunday December 16)

Group A

Sébastien OGIER, WRC star and reigning ROC ‘Champion of Champions’ Jamie WHINCUP, V8 Supercar Champion 2012, 2011, 2009, 2008 David COULTHARD, 13 Formula 1 grand prix victories Benito GUERRA, Production World Rally Champion 2012

Group B

Tom KRISTENSEN, eight-time Le Mans 24-Hour race winner Andy PRIAULX, three-time World Touring Car Champion ROC Asia 1, top non-Thailand competitor from ROC Asia ROC Thailand 1, winner of ROC Thailand

Group C

Sebastian VETTEL, Formula 1 World Champion 2012, 2011, 2010 Jorge LORENZO, MotoGP World Champion 2012, 2010 Mick DOOHAN, five-time 500cc MotoGP World Champion ROC Thailand 2, runner-up from ROC Thailand

Group D

Michael SCHUMACHER, seven-time Formula 1 World Champion Ryan HUNTER-REAY, IndyCar Series Champion 2012 ROC Asia 2, second-placed non-Thailand competitor from ROC Asia Romain GROSJEAN, three Formula 1 podiums in 2012

ROC Nations Cup Draw (Saturday December 15)

Group A

Team France (Sébastien OGIER & Romain GROSJEAN) Team Great Britain (David COULTHARD & Andy PRIAULX) Team Americas (Ryan HUNTER-REAY & Benito GUERRA) Team All Stars (Tom KRISTENSEN & Jorge LORENZO)

Group B

Team Germany (Michael SCHUMACHER & Sebastian VETTEL) Team Thailand (The two finalists from ROC Thailand) Team Australia (Mick DOOHAN & Jamie WHINCUP)

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *